« PreviousContinue »
“vj miles in cumpace,” is on the north side of the city, beyond the High Common; but having been long divided into farms, retains little trace of its original condition, except the remains of the Keeper's Lodge-a building in the Perpendicular style, incorporated with one of the farm-houses.
THERE are eleven chapels of ease appurtenant to the cathedral and parish church, but this only within the city. It was built and endowed by the late Rev. Edward Kilvington, M.A., at an expense of 13,0001., bequeathed for Christian purposes, by his relative, Thomas Kilvington, Esq., M.B., a noted medical practitioner in this city. The first stone was laid on the 28th of July, 1826, and such expedition was used that it was consecrated by the Archbishop of York on the 31st of October, 1827. It is of cruciform arrangement, and designed by the late Mr. Thomas Taylor, whose successful practice in the delineation of our ancient and genuine architecture should have suggested something better than this absurd and incongruous compilation. The spire is the most tolerable portion, and forms a conspicuous object at a considerable distance. The edifice contains 1000 sittings, and a powerful organ, built by Renn and Boston, of Manchester. On the north side of the chancel is a faithful bust of the late Rev. E. Kilvington, by Mr. Angus Fletcher, which,“ in grateful remembrance of his name and work, his friends and hearers caused to be erected." He died January 28th, 1835, aged 68 years.
A house was erected, by subscription, for the incumbent of this church, on the opposite side of the road, in 1849 ; and may, at least, suggest the existence of a mode of building different to that which has hitherto disfigured the many beautiful sites around the city.
A spacious stone building, designed in the Tudor style by Mr. Railton, occupies a slight eminence about a mile north-west of the city, commanding agreeable prospects down the valleys of the Laver and the Ure, as well as of the cathedral and the city. The foundation stone was laid by the Bishop of Ripon, on Monday, the 1st of October, 1838, and the structure was prepared for his reception in the autumn of 1841.
The appurtenant demesne, which adjoins the ancient manorial park of the Archbishop of York, contains one hundred and nine acres, and was gratuitously ceded by Mrs. Lawrence, the lessee of that prelate, who also provided the building stone.
A small chapel had been originally included among the apartments of the Palace, but a disposition having been manifested by the inhabitants of a neighbouring hamlet to attend the services that were more particularly intended for the Bishop's household, the late Archbishop of York, who had witnessed the inconvenience of their number, and their inability regularly to visit the parish church, munificently placed the sum of 3000l. at the disposal of the Bishop of Ripon, wherewith to erect a more suitable structure. A site having been accordingly chosen on the east side of the Palace, the foundation of a suitable structure, designed by Mr. Railton, in the Perpendicular style, was laid on the 24th of June, 1846.
PUBLIC BUILDINGS AND INSTITUTIONS.
THE HOSPITAL OF St. Mary MAGDALENE, founded by an Archbishop of York who was forgotten so early as 1341, stands at the northern extremity of Stammergate, not far from the river Ure. The Alms-houses were rebuilt in 1674: but the Chapel, on the opposite side of the way, remains as it was left at the Reformation. The original structure of the twelfth century, containing a rudelyornamented Norman doorway, has been repaired during the Perpendicular era, when the screen and its appurtenant blanched stalls were constructed. A low side-window of this date in the middle of the south wall has been partially walled up. Besides these relics, there is the stone high altar remaining in its proper position, and on its south side a smaller slab in the floor that appears, from the incised crosses, to have served a similar purpose, probably before the elongation of the chapel. The pavement before the altar, 11 feet long and 3 feet 84 inches wide, is worthy of attentive consideration ; for if it is not actually Roman, as is generally supposed, it has certainly been copied from a work of that period, in the twelfth century.
THE HOSPITAL OF ST. JOHN THE BAPTIST, nigh Bondgate Bridge, owes its origin to Thomas, the second Archbishop of York, who was translated to that See in 1109. The Chapel, which seems to have been built about the time of Edward II., and is in nowise remarkable, was much enlarged in 1812, and converted into a National School. Two poor women, recipients of the charity, reside in an adjacent cottage.
The Hospital of St. Anne, in High St. Agnesgate, of the foundation and structure of an uncertain benefactor about the time of Edward IV., accommodates eight poor women with apartments and a small pension. Its little Chapel, in a state of picturesque decay, retains the piscina and altar-stone, on which tradition asserts that the ransom of a Scottish king was paid. A stone bearing the arms of Sir Solomon Swale, of South Stainley, with the date 1664, has been walled into the window towards the street. The burialground is now used as a garden.
JEPSON's Hospital, in Water Skellgate, was founded in 1672, by Zacharias Jepson, of York, apothecary, and a native of this place, who bequeathed 30001. to feoffees to purchase lands for the maintenance and education of twenty orphan boys, or poor tradesmen's sons, of the town of Ripon, who were to be admitted at the age of seven years. This laudable institution has subsequently received benefactions, but the injudicious investment of the original funds had caused the number of boys to be reduced to ten.
The Free GRAMMAR School, in St. Agnesgate, and on the south side of the church-yard, was first founded in 1546, by King Edward VI., but incorporated by Philip and Mary, 27th June, 1555, and endowed chiefly from the revenues of certain chantries in this church and parish. Matthew Hutton, Archbishop of Canterbury ; Bishop Porteus ; and Archdeacon Thomas Balguy, were among the eminent men who have been instructed here.
Tue Town Hall, on the south side of the Market-place, was built from a design by Wyatt, in 1801, at the expense of Mrs. Allanson, of Studley. In the Assembly Room, which occupies the upper front story, is a full-length portrait of Mrs. Allanson; and in a lower room, now used as a News Room, a characteristic bust in marble, of Mrs. Lawrence, the niece of Mrs. Allanson, by Mr. Angus Fletcher. The eastern part of the building is occupied by the Town-clerk.
The Wesleyan METHODIST CHAPEL, on Coltsgate Hill, was built in 1777 ; that of the New Connexion of Methodists, in Low Skellgate, in 1795. The Temple, or Calvinist Chapel, in 1818; and a Chapel for Primitive Methodists, in Priest Lane, in 1821, which was enlarged in 1841.
A great local accommodation was acquired in 1833, hy the institution of the Publio Rooms in Low Skellgate. A commodious mansion, with a garden extending to the river behind, was first purchased by shareholders, and appropriated chiefly to the establishment of a Circulating Library and a News Room ; but the project having been encouraged, another building, containing an apartment 52 ft. by 26 ft., and suitable for general public asseinblies, was erected in addition in 1834.
THE MECHANICS' INSTITUTION was established 26th February, 1831, and associated with a literary society in 1844. Its advantages having been long misunderstood and neglected, it was held in an insufficient and hired apartment until 1849 ; when, on the manifestation of a more enlightened perception, an independent building was erected by subscription at the east end of the Public Rooms. Besides apartments for the resident secretary, it contains a Class and Lecture Room, 40 ft. hy 20 ft. ; a Reading Room 24 ft. by 20 ft. ; and another Class Room 20 ft. 6 in. by 15 ft. 9 in. There are, at present, upwards of two hundred members, of whom a few of the most active and zealous have succeeded, within the last four years, in establishing five kindred institutions in the neighbourhood.
A NATIONAL SCHOOL for boys, conducted on Dr. Bell's plan, has been held, since its commencement in 1812, in St. John's Chapel, Bondgate; and another for girls, established originally in 1803, as a Sunday School, is kept in a building in High St. Agnesgate, erected by Mrs. Lawrence of Studley. There are also National Schools in connection with the Parish Church, Trinity Church, and the Wesleyan Methodist Chapel.
A DISPENSARY was commenced in Ripon as early as 1790, and has recently been conducted with a most beneficial result ; but, lacking sufficient endowment, it was held in a dwelling-house, until the bequest of 10001. by the late Mrs. Lawrence was judiciously expended, in 1850, in the erection of a suitable building in Ferraby Lane.
A joint-stock company established Gas Works here in 1830, and so provided a public convenience, which-with reference to the interests of the inhabitants-should have been anticipated and conducted by the Municipal Corporation. The capital of the company is divided into one hundred and eighty shares of 251. each, the holders of which have, at present, a favourable prospect of realising their speculation. The Gas-house is in Stammergate.
It was left, also, to the enterprise of an individual to construct the WATER-Works, by which a daily supply from the river Skellraised in the mill at Duck-hill bank—is forced to taps in the mainstreets, and such houses as may require it.
A public Bathing House was erected on Skell-bank, by subscription, in 1812, and is supplied from St. Wilfrid's Well, which rises in a field a little to the west of it, and not far from the close where “the Gospel tree” stood. Its stream, however, as well as that of a spring on Borrage Green, had been protected and collected in stone basins, for public use, by Dr. Richardson, of Ripon, in 1758 and 1762, being both of exceeding pure quality, and much frequented. There is, also, another valuable spring, called St. Helen's WELL, about a mile from the city, by the side of the Leeds road; and a SulPHURETTED Spa, which, though slightly impregnated, is not useless, at the north end of Stammergate.
As early as 1736, the disadvantages of the inland position of Ripon, induced an enterprising party to attempt to render a portion of the River Ure navigable, and to form a canal from thence hither,