Page images
[merged small][ocr errors]

Printers, 27-47, Garden Row, St. George's Road, Southwark, S.E.1. Contains hairless paper, over which the pen slips with perfect freedom. Ninepence each, 8s. per dozen, ruled or plain; postage extra, ls.

Pocket size, 5s. per dozen, ruled or plain, postage 9d. STICKPHAST is a clean white Paste and not a messy quid.

Founded 1849.

20, High Street, High Wycombe, Bucks. (Telephone: Wycombe, 306).




(July-December, 1924) will be ready for issue on January 31, and should be ordered at once from: NOTES & QUERIES," 20. High Street, High Wycombe, Bucks; from "NOTES & QUERIES," 22. Essex Street, London, W.C.2; or through local booksellers and newsagents. Price 2s. 6d., postage 1d.



HE PUBLISHERS regret that they will no longer be able to undertake the binding of Subscribers' parts into volumes as heretofore.

Publishers' CLOTH BINDING CASES will still be obtainable "" from NOTES AND QUERIES," 20, High Street, High Wycombe, Bucks; from our London Office, 22. Essex Street, London, W.C.2; or through local booksellers and newsagents.

Price 3s., postage 3d.



NOTES:-Monuments in Toddington Church and Churchyard, 57-Militia Commissions, Co. Cavan, 58-A Central African pastime, 60.

QUERIES:-Sir John Fortescue and Norton St. Philip-
Oslo: Anslo, 61-Sugar Manufacture at Bristol-Naming
of Ships-Letters of Dr. Johnson and Mrs. Charlotte
Lennox--Little Boys at Balls-Robert Ayres (Ayres),
62-Alexander Hume-Famous Etonians-John Walp-
Ready Reckoners-Williamson of Liverpool-" He
that fights and runs away," 63- Staurarius
-Elizabeth Parker: Phillipi-Richard Cosway's
Miniatures-Sir John Stuart, the hero of Maida-
David Stokes--Charters of Cornish Ferries-Limpus
Surname Article on sensations of the Face-Author
wanted, 64.
REPLIES:-George Stone, Archbishop of Armagh-Old
Crocks-Hall of London Company re-built, 65-Hirer-
The Apparition of Old Booty-Drums of Human Skin-
Pommies, 66-Furneux, Berdewell and Denny Families


Wearing of Hats in Clubs-The Nettervilles and Oliver Cromwell-" Cobb ": "Flywing "-The Origin of the Camoys Family, 67-Identification of Arms desired-Uriconium: Ariconium: Archenfield, Lancelot derivation-An eighteenth century satireLast House on London Bridge-Tavern Signs: Seven Stars. 69-Gloucestershire Epitaphs-Warren Waller Family - Yerton alias Hall, Cumberland-Cromwell alias Williams-Latin quotation, 70. THE LIBRARY:- New English Dictionary: Whisking

[blocks in formation]

-Wilfulness'-' The Cambridge Book of Verse Getting a Laugh.'

Prose and

Fetter Lane, London, E.C.4.

Booksellers' Catalogues.

Notices to Correspondents.

[blocks in formation]

NOTES AND QUERIES is Publis wycentry

Friday, at 20, High Street, High Wycombe, Bucks. Subscriptions (£1 15s. 4d. a year, or $8.50 U.S.A., including postage and two halfyearly indexes) should be sent to the Publisher. The London Office is at 22, Essex Street, W.C.2 (Telephone: Central 396), where

the current issue is on sale. Orders for back numbers, indexes and bound volumes should be sent either to London or to Wycombe: letters for the Editor to the London Office.


THE tradition about the secret restingplace of the bones of St. Cuthbert which is said to be handed down in the English Benedictine Order, is just now exciting interest in the North. In an interview in The Universe Abbot Butler, O.S.B., states that he and the Cardinal Gasquet are the only living custodians of the secret, which is contained in a plan and a set of doggerel Latin verses. The third (there are normally three), Abbot Smith, O.S.B., died a short time ago, and his successor will be appointed when the General Chapter of the Order meets in the summer. Abbot Butler is in favour of testing the authenticity of the tradition by examining the site indicated, if the necessary consent of the General Chapter of the Benedictine Order is obtained for divulging the secret. Dean Welldon and the Chapter of Durham Cathedral have expressed their readiness to further any investigation the Benedictines desire.

St. Cuthbert died in 687 and his body has been exhumed at least five times since its first burial; in 697 (when Bede says it was found unchanged with the joints still flexible); in 1104 (when the coffin was three times opened in the presence of trustworthy witnesses, who certified its incorruption); in 1537 (when Henry VIII's commissioners reported that it was still intact, though one of the legs was broken by rough handling); in 1827 (by the Dean and Chapter of Durham), and in 1874 (when the whole of the skeleton was found, together with many other bones, and among them the frontal bone of a large skull-one half of the forehead cut away- believed to be part of the head of

King Oswald). This body rests behind the High Altar of Durham Cathedral. It is not supposed that the Benedictine tradition disputes the fact of the body lying within the Cathedral; what it asserts is that it lies in some other site. Archbishop Eyre in his History of St. Cuthbert' (we quote from The Yorkshire Post-Jan. 19), says: There is no doubt that the carved coffin discovered in 1827 was the original coffin of St. Cuthbert, but the skeleton found was not that of the Saint."


[ocr errors]

AFTER exercising the brains of all the ingenious people in England for months in the search for a motto for London, and receiving floods of suggestions, the London County Council, at its meeting on Tuesday last, adopted, by 39 votes to 31, the word "London" for that purpose. This reminds us of Mme de Sévigné's grandchild, Pauline, who was laughed at by her grandmother for proudly setting out to find a wonderful, witty pet-name to call her by, and ending by discovering "Madame." The L.C.C. hereby disregard the advice of Garter King of Arms, and ignore the possibility of the arms with that motto being mistaken for the arms of the City of London.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

MR. LENNOX ROBINSON, addressing the Manchester Playgoers' Club last Sunday, uttered sundry strictures upon playwrights and their claims upon the production It was their wont to resist any of a piece. cutting of the parts; and he recalled the condition upon which Mr. Bernard Shaw had permitted Back to Methusaleh' to be performed at Sheffield-not a cut was to be made. Mr. Robinson would not, he said, produce a play on those terms; he did not see why at the theatre they should be under Closer the tryanny of the written word." and closer combination between the playwright, producer and player is, in his opinion, the only way to get real art in the theatre; and for this we must come to acknowledgment of the fact that the playwright had to bow his head, as the player This argument had had to bow his.” hardly allows adequate prerogative to the The fundamental inventor of the drama. dramatic conception, of which the words are the first and the permanent vehicle, seems, after all, on a different level from the ideas of the producer or the interpretation of the player.

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

IN his lecture at the Royal Institute of British Architects on Monday last Dr. Oscar Faber drew a startling picture of the

conditions under which some London buildings stand. He instanced a six-storeyed warehouse upon a foundation of river-mud, which could be made safe in the ordinary way only by taking the foundation ten feet below the basement. This formidable enterprise was however renounced in favour of 'floating" the building on the black mud at a higher level upon a concrete raft. builder who received instructions to carry out the work was mightily alarmed and formally disclaimed responsibility for any disastrous results. He had levels taken at



each stanchion every week throughout the process of construction, but a year after the completion he was amazed to find that not a movement had been detected by his levelling. THE Boston-Harvard Expedition, working in the neighbourhood of the Giza pyramids, has made, among others, the find of two small tombs of priests of the Sixth Dynasty which are of very high interest indeed. The two were father and son, by name Qa'ar and Iduw. An account in some detail, of the unusual type of tomb, and of the beautiful decoration still in good preservation will be found in The Times of

Jan. 20.

THE Irish Times reports that the fishermen of Cardigan Bay have been reduced to inactivity by an invasion of seals. The seals have been breeding in caves about two miles from Nevin in South Carnarvonshire, and have been attacking the nets, damaging them and taking the herrings, often following the boats to the shore. The Ministry of Fisheries has been compelled to give attention to this.

The Doon was sent out to deal with the seals in their breedingplaces, but these were found to be mostly in inaccessible places, and only three seals were killed.

WE E note in The Yorkshire Post of Jan. 20 an account of a candle auction which took place last week at Old Bolingbroke in the Horncastle district of Lincolnshire. An ancient benefactor gave a close of land the Poor Folks Close "-for the benefit of poor villagers, upon the condition - which has always been observed that it should be let by candle auction every five years. In the recent instance the Rector, according to custom, presided over the auction, which was attended by most of the villagers. A pin was inserted in a candle, which then was lighted whereupon bidding began. The bidder of the moment when the pin is reached by the flame and falls secures the land. The

tenant of the last five years was this year again successful; he got the land this year for £6 10s. instead of £12 10s., the rent of the last occasion.

THE London Society visited the Goldsmiths' Hall on Tuesday last. The Prime Warden of the Goldsmith's Company received them and gave them interesting historical 1190, which was formed into a company by particulars. A fraternity was founded in statute in the reign of Edward I, and received under Edward their first charter empowering them to search for false wares and imprison or fine delinquents. system of letter-marks, running in cycles for 20 years, by which makers of articles can be identified is still in use; and the Company likewise still make the " test of the pyx. Every year one gold coin in every 2,000 made at the Mint, and one silver coin out of every £198 minted, are submitted to them and they also test yearly the currencies of Australia, South Africa and Canada.


IN the first of a series of lectures at the Royal College of Surgeons, Sir Arthur Keith yesterday brought forward some facts and considerations which go to modify the now common opinion concerning the descent of man. Examination of remains of prehistoric man in South Africa have revealed him as possessor of a large brain. The mounds about Port Elizabeth yield evidence of a culture similar to the Mediterranean prehistoric culture. It was an error to assume that the further one went back the more one would find man approximating to the negro type; on the contrary the pre-historic negro was less negroid that his descendants. AST


Monday morning the Monarch, obsolete battle-ship, was towed out of Plymouth Sound by half-a-dozen tugs, on her way to a spot in the Atlantic, to be sunk there by the gunfire of the Atlantic Fleet, in accordance with the Washington Treaty.. The Monarch did well in the Great War.

singular melancholy case is reported from Berlin-the arrest of a well-known German historian upon a charge of having formed for himself a large collection of rare State documents out of State archives to which in his capacity of historian he had access. The discovery of his accumulation was made through some of the documents having been sold by a friend of his to booksellers and having been recognised by Viennese archivists from the descriptions in the booksellers' catalogues.

Literary and Historical wyf Fader and mother" in the chapel “of



THE Monuments in Toddington Church are many of them of a highly interesting character, and have in part been noted previously. There are however in the chapel of St. James, called also the Cheney chapel, four altar tombs with recumbent effigies and two others, also with effigies, in arched recesses in the south wall, on which some observations may be made.

These were described as long ago as 1804, in The Gentleman's Magazine (Part 1. PP. 505-8), but, no doubt owing to the damage which even then had taken place, the arms were indifferently deciphered, and perhaps as a consequence the attributions were entirely fanciful. In Misc. Gen. et Her., vol. ii., p. 434, the inscriptions and arms of two of these are again described, with others in the north transept and the chancel; the celebrated one to Henrietta Maria, Baroness Wentworth, in the north transept is one of these.

In view of the differences expressed by various authors, it may be permissible first to endeavour to clear up the identity of the four, which are left in some doubt, in the south chapel.

The oldest of these is that against the west wall. In The Gentleman's Magazine it is suggested this might be John de Chenei, Sheriff (9, 10, Edw. I). It may be observed that the Cheneys had no connection so far as we are aware with Toddington at that period. Sir Thomas Cheney, who married Anne, the daughter of Sir John Broughton, and thus acquired the manor of Toddington, was father to Henry, Lord Cheney, who entertained Queen Elizabeth at his newlybuilt mansion, they being the first members of that family to reside there.

The arms of Peyvre: Three fleurs de lis on a chevron, still to be seen, though mutilated, on the breast, sufficiently attest the family of the knight in question, and the armour would appear to be of the fourteenth century. This points to Nicholas Peyvre, who died 1362, father of Thomas Peyvre; and we find in the will of the latter, preserved in Lambeth Palace library (Chichele, vol. i. fo. 414a), that there is a bequest "to prests to synge for me and Margerie my

[ocr errors]

Seint Jame in the Churche of Todyngton," and a further bequest "to amende platys [probably brasses] withynne the Churche of Todyngton wher my fader and moder lyen. These extracts, therefore, sufficiently establish that Nicholas Peyvre, the father of Thomas, was buried in this chapel, and leave little room for doubt as to the identity of the tomb. period also remain, but have been wrongly Fragments of brass of this attributed to John Broughton. tombs in arched recesses in the south wall of the chapel, one with the effigy of a knight, the other with that of a woman, seem unquestionably to be those of the above Thomas Peyvre and Margaret his wife. In the will already quoted from, Thomas Peyvre directed Seynt Jame in the Church of Todynton be body to be beryed in the Chapel of Margarete my wyf.”


The two

The Peyvre arms are also to be discerned on the breasts of both the foregoing figures, and confirmation of their identity is found in a manuscript (Cott. Cleop. ciii. p. 8, B.M.) by Francis Thynne, Lancaster Herald, in 1582-3, where they are thus described, under Tuddingtone':

[ocr errors]
[merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small]

2 & 4. Barry of 5 Arg. and az. within a bordure gu:

3. Peyvre.

The foregoing manuscript is quoted in Beds N. & Q. (i. 64), and in a footnote Mr. Blaydes (now Page Turner) says "I have no doubt this is the tomb of Nicholas, the father of Thomas Peyvre, who married Margaret daur: of Sir Thomas Arden.' This, of course, confirms the previous contention as to the tomb of Nicholas Peyvre.

The fourth tomb, which has been questioned, is on the east wall of the chapel, and in The Gentleman's Magazine, is suggested to be that of Sir John Broughton. This is no doubt rightly assigned by Lysons ('Beds,' p. 144) and confirmed by Dodd (Hist. of Woburn,' p. 135) and others, to Henry, Lord Cheney. On the one side of it is the tomb of his mother, Anne, daughter of Sir John Broughton, who married Sir Thomas Cheney, and on the other that of Jane, the wife of Henry, Lord Cheney, and in both cases the arms and inscriptions to those ladies are still to be seen.

In The Gentleman's Magazine already quoted, the arms which were at the time on the tomb in the centre were similar but imperfectly described, and are no doubt those of Lord Cheney. Confirmation of this is to be found in Add. MS. 34376, p. 80:

In ye middle is ye Tombe for Henry Ld

Cheyne only son to ye Lady as before on wh. lies his effigy in Armour but now much defaced and all inscribed only four verses in Latin on a Square of Blue Marble placed at his feet

Vera Fides Patriae Dilectio' Morum
Candor Militiae hac Arma fuere tuae
Ecquid restat ab haec Insignia Fama
Christi morte Tibi Vita Corona datur.

Above with ye motto Le Mieulx Que Je

Puis, is his complementum armoriale in 22 Coats, colours part gone or not clear in some places and elsewhere adjusted.

1. Erm: on a bend sable 3 Martlets Or. (Cheyney).


2. Az: 6 Lionc'lls Rampt.; 3. 2. 1 Arg. a canton Ermine (Shurland of Kent). 3. Erm a chief pr pale indented Or and gu in ye first column a rose (Shottisbrooke).

[ocr errors]

4. (Broughton) as in ye last. &c., &c., &c. (here follow other quarterings)

The other tombs in the church, with the following exceptions, have been sufficiently described in the works alluded to; there is, however, on the west wall of the south chapel, a marble tablet to Elizabeth Cooper, daughter and sole heiress of John Cooper of

Bowden and Ashley in Cheshire, and Toddington Manor, who died June 6, 1855, aged 72, whose husband, William Dodge Cooper Cooper, Deputy Lieutenant of Beds, and one of Her Majesties Justices of the Peace for Beds and the liberties of the Cinque Ports, died Aug. 9, 1860, aged 77.

Jane, eldest daughter of the above, died Mar. 26, 1856, aged 49; buried in the transept.

There is also in this chapel a loose stone inscribed "Emma Moffatt daughter of Henry & Maria Baker, who died May 8th, 1816.' The lower part of a stone coffin, found in the wall of the north porch, when it was rebuilt some years back, is also preserved there.

Under one of the choir benches near the south wall of the chancel is the following, on marble-not previously chronicled :

Here lyeth the Right Honourable
Annie Ladie Wentworth, eldest
daughter to the Right Honobl. Sir
Thomas Wentworth Knight of the
Bathe, Lord Wentworth and now Earle
of Cleveland and to the Countesse
Anne his wife, who dyed Ano Do. 1612
in the 1 yeere of her age:

At the bottom are the Wentworth arms, quarterly of four.

As some monuments described in previous publications have already disappeared and

extensive alterations in the Church are in contemplation, it may be well to record the above: some of which are indeed threatened with removal!

There was formerly in the nave a stone of Mr. Thomas Cooke, citizen and goldsmith of Foster Lane, London, who died Dec. 6, 1761, aged 59;" and on the same was inscribed," Mr. Richard Gurney, Citizen and Goldsmith, late of London, died July 27, 1767, aged 66." (Misc. Gen. et Hen., vol. iii. 450).

This is now used as a hearth stone to the furnace which heats the church, and is some three feet under ground!

Jos. HIGHT BLUNDELL. (To be concluded).

[blocks in formation]
« PreviousContinue »