Page images
PDF
EPUB
[blocks in formation]

Let him be who he will, deserves a Halter.

1. Rt. Hon. Humfrey Parsons, Esq; Lord Mayor. *JANUA PATET, COR MAGIS: The Inscription on a Nobleman's Gate in Italy. 2. Sir Gilbert Heathcote, Kt. 3. Sir William Humfreys, Kt. & Bart. 4. Sir Charles Peers. 5. Sir Gerard Conyers, Kt. 6. Sir John Eyles, Bart. 7. Sir Edward Beecher, Kt. 8. Sir Robert Baylis, Kt. 9. Sir Richard Brocas, Kt. 10. Sir Harcourt Masters, Kt. 11. Francis Child, Esq; 12. Richard Levitt, Esq; 13. John Barber, Esq; 14. Sir William Billers, Kt. 15. Sir Edward Bellamy, Kt. 16. Sir John Williams, Kt. 17. Sir Richard Hopkins, Kt. 18. Sir John Tash, Kt. 19. Sir John Thompson, Kt. 20. Robert Alsop, Esq; 21. John Barnard, Esq; 22. Micaijah Perry Esq; 23. Sir Thomas Lomb, Kt. 24. Henry Hankey, Esq; 25. George Champion, Esq; 26. John Salter, Esq.

(To be concluded).

OLD CROCKS.

(See ante, p. 3).

J. Z. C.

capture, elsewhere he says she was a weakbuilt East Indiaman.

[ocr errors]

The Duguay-Trouin, 74 (III), fought against us at Trafalgar; she was one of Dumanoir le Pelley, having escaped, after the six French ships under Rear-Admiral (flag), Scipion, 74, and Mont Blanc, 74. exchanging some shots, with Formidable, 80 These vessels were making their way to Rochefort, when they fell in with, and chased, Phoenix, frigate, who led them by strategy into the range of Sir Richard John Strachan, Bart., with four ships of equal force, and four frigates, "which in this case (three at least) contributed their full share towards achieving the victory (W. James, The Naval History,' vol. iv. p. 10). The French having suffered very severely, after a short action, surrendered on Nov. 4, 1805, and were taken to Plymouth as prizes. The Duguay-Trouin (III) was re-named Implacable, and after some further forty years of very useful service, in 1855, became part of the Training Establishment for Boys at Devonport, known as Lion and Lion ex Implacable. She was paid off from this service in 1904, and in 1912 handed over to Mr. Wheatly Cobb, who has made every endeavour to interest the nation in maintainher for the Sea Scouts, proposing to arm her with the guns salved from Lord Nelson's "dear Foudroyant " (lost at Blackpool, 1897) which had been rescued from a German ship-breaker in 1892 by J. R. Cobb, Esq., F.S.A. (See Times, Oct. 21, 1920; also Spectator, Oct. 29, 1921).

[ocr errors]

Eaglet ex Eagle, 4th Rate, launched at Northfleet, 1804, built of wood, 3,340t. July THE Implacable, 2nd Rate, is in Falmouth Navy List states (Lent to R. N. V.R., MerHarbour. "Lent to Mr. Wheatly Cobb sey Division), Salthouse Dock, Liverpool." for preservation" (vide N.L.) Implacable, Cornwall, previously Wellesley, was built 74, ex Duguay Trouin (III) was built at of teak at Bombay by the East India ComRochefort in 1800-3,223t. As this vessel has been confused with others of the same name it is as well to point out that DuguayTrouin (I), 74, was captured when the British occupied Toulon in August, 1793, and burnt (destroyed) at the evacuation in the following December. As for DuguayTrouin (II), 28, authorities differ. The Admiralty Librarian, who also kindly supplied the date of Duguay-Trouin (III), says she was a privateer of 34 guns; William James the Naval Historian, states that she was Princess Royal, 28, East Indiaman, surrendered to French 1794, and re-captured by Orpheus, 32, 5 May, 1796. Wm. Laird Clowes, in Royal Navy,' vol. xxxx., p. 553, agrees as regards tonnage and details of re

pany and launched Feb. 24, 1815. This Wellesley, a 72 gun ship, was Admiral Sir Frederick Lewis Maitland's flagship at the reduction of Kurrachee in conjunction with land forces. In July, 1840, she was engaged in the capture of Chusan, under Commodore Sir Gordon Bremer, and in 1841 in the capture and destruction of the forts Chuenpee and Tycocktow and the other forts and batteries of the Bocca Tigris. In May of the same year she was engaged in the attack upon Canton and the defences of the Chinese forces in front of that city. She carried the flag of Vice-Admiral Sir William Parker, G. C.B., at the capture of Amoy on Aug. 26, 1841, and was also present at the successful attack upon the heights of Chusan,

Oct. 1, 1841. From her sides were taken thirty-four shots received during the war. Cornwall is the only name given in the Navy List, late 3rd Rate, 2,917t. Lent to School Ship Company, Purfleet, as a Juvenile Reformatory. Trincomalee, re-named Foudroyant by Mr. Wheatly Cobb, was built at Bombay 1817, 1,447t., 38 gun frigate. She was bought from a ship-breaker's yard in 1897 by Mr. Wheatly Cobb, who has manned her with boys who have gone forth trained and educated into the Royal Navy and Mercantile Marine from the harbour of Falmouth as honest, competent, self-respecting English

seamen- "These are the real wealth of the Nation; of such as these in a word is the real nation."-L. Cope Cornford (Morning Post, 10 Oct., 1921).

Unicorn, 5th Rate, launched at Chatham, 1824; 151 feet in length, 1,447 tons displacement. Now employed as R.N.V.R.

Training Ship, Dundee.

The Conway, School Ship Establishment, appears to have originated in a small sloop of that name lent by the Admiralty in 1859, being replaced by the Winchester in 1874, which vessel took the name of Conway. The Winchester was at one time flagship on the China Station, her commission ending in 1856. When the Conway Committee required a still larger vessel, the frigate Winchester was handed over to the Devonport and Cornwall Industrial Training Ship Commmittee and re-named Mount Edgcumbe. Disappearing from the Navy List about 1920, where she was styled Mount Edgcumbe (late Conway), late 4th Rate, 2,300t. She was berthed at Saltash, just above Brunel's Suspension Bridge. The present Conway ec Nile was launched at Plymouth, June, 1839, as a 90 gun, 2nd Rate, 4,375t. She was converted to screw ship in 1853. (Lent to Mercantile Marine Service Association), Rock Ferry, Birkenhead." (Vide N.L., July, 1924). The Nile was attached to Sir Charles Napier's squadron in the Baltic during the Russian War, but does not appear to have been in action; later she was flagship on the North American and West India Station; she also figured in the 1856 Review at Spithead as Nile, 91, 500 h.p., and became School Ship Conway in

[ocr errors]

1875.

a

Mars, 80, late screw, 3rd Rate, 3,842t. Begun in 1839 and launched at Chatham in 1848. It is believed that she took part in the Crimean War as a store carrier, relegated to this duty on account of her bad steering

[blocks in formation]

In 1874

The Arethusa, launched at Pembroke, June 20, 1849, as a 50 gun frigate, is now used as a training ship for boys under the Shaftesbury Homes and Arethusa Training Ship Society, formerly the National Refugees. Berthed at Greenhithe; founded ment originated with the Chichester frigate, in 1843; incorporated 1904. The Establishlent by the Admiralty in 1866. she was joined by the Arethusa. The Chichester was sold and broken up in 1890, the two vessels having been used by the Society. The Arethusa saw service before Odessa in April, 1854, Capt. N. E. Mends. (It was either this Capt. N. R. Mends or Capt. Robert Mends who had commanded a previous Arethusa, 38, in 1809, who is said to have been responsible for the introduction of boots in the service, for the seamen). She also saw service and was badly mauled before Fort Constantine in October of that year, and was ordered to Malta to refit. On these occasions she well preserved the renown of her name, Saucy Arethusa, earned by Arethusa, 32, Captain Samuel Marshall, in June, 1778. She was altered to screw in

1861.

The Training Ship Worcester, ex Frederick William, er Royal Frederick, named after H.R.H. Frederick, Duke of York, second son of H.M. King George III, was begun as a sailing vessel at Portsmouth in July, 1841. as Royal Frederick, 1st Rate, 110 guns; subsequently razed, and converted to screw in 1859. Her name was changed to Frederick Her original William in January, 1860. figure-head is preserved in the interesting museum founded 1906-11 by Mr. Pescot O.B. E., then Sercetary to Frost, Admiralty Superintendent of Portsmouth Dockyard. She was launched 24 March, 1860, and paid off 1868 and re-named "Lent to Worcester 19 Oct., 1876, and was the Thames Marine Officers Training Ship Society" (vide Navy List,' July, 1924, p. 303), which Society appears to be also known

the

[ocr errors]

as "The Incorporated Thames Nautical THE ORIGIN OF THE CAMOYS FAMILY Training College, H. M.S. Worcester." Stationed at Greenhithe, Kent, she is described Worcester (late Frederick William). Late 2nd Rate, 4725T."

as

[ocr errors]

The present senior ship of the Torpedo School Ship" at Devonport, which comprises four vessels in the Establishment, is Defiance, late screw, 2nd Rate, 5,270t., built of wood, 255ft. in length, launched at Pembroke 27 March, 1861.

Fly, cutter, 60t., was built in 1863. She is employed as a hulk for the accommodation of pilots at Plymouth.

Newcastle, given in the Navy List, July, 1924, as Late Screw Frigate, 4,020 tons, Powder Hulk, Naval Ordinance Department, Plymouth, was launched at Deptford in

1861."

Valiant was a screw battle-ship, 91 guns, Armour-plated" iron vessel, launched at Poplar Oct. 14, 1863, 6,710t., now used as a hulk, named Valiant III, at Devonport. As so many took passage in the famous old troopships the following incomplete list will be acceptable. They were all iron vessels, except Thalia, and the 1855 vessels Assistance, Resolute and Urgent.

[N Burke's Peerage and Baronetage' for 1873, of which I possess a copy, I find it stated in the lineage of the then Lord Camoys that

The name of Camoys was derived from the manor of Camoys in Cambridgeshire, of which manor Humphrey was seized in the reigns of Henry I. and Stephen. His son Robert Fitz Humphrey m. Matilda de Diva, a dau. and coheir of Pagan de Peverell. Their grandson, Ralph de Camoys, m. Axelina, the dau. and heir of Roger de Torpell, by whom he acquired very large estates.

Can any

one state if this manor

of

His

Camoys still exists in Cambridgeshire, and,
if so, where it is situate, and by what name
Hum-
it is recorded in Domesday-book?
phrey, too, whence did he originate?
great-grandson, if the above account can be
the family to assume the name De Camoys.
relied on, appears to have been the first of

I note that in the more recent editions of 66 Burke this account of the origin of the Camoys family is for some reason or other omitted, and the editor contents himself by commencing the history of the family with the afore-mentioned Ralph de Camoys, who died in 1259. Other Peerage compilers also, viz., Sir Harris Nicholas, Joseph Foster, and Cokayne, commence the history of the Name. Built. Date. Tons. Length. family with this same de Camoys as its proHimalaya... Blackwall... 1853 4690 340 genitor. (Bought into the Service in July, 1854. Cost £131,000).

Orontes
Tamar

Ft.

Birkenhead. 1862 ... 5920 350
Poplar
1863 4650 300
(Serving as Receiving Ship, Hongkong.
Flying the Broad Pendant of the Com-
modore in Charge of Naval Establish-
ments at Hongkong).

Name.

Ft.

Built. Date. Tons. Lgth. Spd. Euphrates... Birkenh'd 1866 6211 360 10.3

Jumna

[blocks in formation]

Jarrow
Glasgow..
Blackwall

[ocr errors][ocr errors]

Blackwall 1867

Woolwich 1869 2240 200

8.0

8.3

9.0 9.0

(Built of Wood converted Corvette).
Newcastle 1878 3560 320

(Built of Iron as a Troop Store Carrier). The Malabar was for years receiving-ship at Bermuda, where she was commissioned under the name Terror. Terror ex Malabar, With Thalia and Tyne were on the sale list in January, 1920, Navy List. It is believed the Tamar alone remains.

JOHN A. RUPERT-JONES.

(To be concluded).

[blocks in formation]

Of later years, however, a different complexion has been placed upon the origin, or at any rate the early history, of this family, it having been pretty clearly established to be identical with the well-known Kemeys family which took its patronymic from Monmouthshire, and had large possessions Cemeis (Welsh), anglicized into Kemeys, in in that county and Glamorganshire.

It was through the researches of the late Colonel William Kemmis, of Ballinacor, Co. Wicklow-whose ancestors emanated from this ancient Welsh family, but who, on settling in Ireland, appears to have changed the spelling of his name-that the probability of the Camoys and Kemeys families being identical is made evident. In 1891 he had

a brochure privately printed setting forth the evidence he had accumulated, entitled Abstract of the Pedigree of the Ancient House of Camoys' (Parker and Co., Crown Yard, Oxford), a copy of which may no doubt be found in the Bodleian Library.

It is worthy of note, as Colonel Kemmis stated in the preface to his pamphlet,

That as late as towards the close of the eleventh century the Camoys lords of Pilton, in the co. Northampton, are found instituting to the Church there, priests of the surname of Cammeys, bearing Welsh Christian names. And he also added

That the arms of Camoys and Kemeys are lifferent is not a matter for surprise, as it was not until the second half of the thirteenth century that heraldic bearings began to become hereditary.

Mr. Wakeman, a learned antiquary in Monmouthshire, writing of the Kemeys! family some sixty years ago, stated that there are ten or twelve pedigrees of this family in the British Museum, and in one of the earlier ones the arms of Camois are impaled with those of Kemeys; as they were also on an ancient window formerly existing Sherborne Abbey. (Vide Hutchins's History of Dorset ')."

in

6

It might be difficult at the present day to identify the progenitor of either family, but there seems every probability that both families originated from the same ancestors, and are consequently of the same stock. CROSS CROSSLET.

ANN

on

NNO SANTO.-In April, 1894, I read a paper before the Bibliographical Society The Augsburg Printers of the Fifteenth Century.' Now Johann Bamler, the third printer at that city, who printed from 14721493, printed in 1476 a work by Johann von Königshofen Cronica von allen Kaisern und Königen,' and gives an account of his visit to Rome in 1450, which may possibly interest some of the readers of N. & Q.' at the present time.

This Pope [Nicholas V] also had a Jubilee year, that is a journey to Rome, or a year full of grace and indulgences from all sins in the third year of his reign, that is after the birth of Christ, the one thousand four hundred and fiftieth year. An innumerable number of people came to Rome upon Christmas Day, when the year was nearly ended. There was at the Christmas Festival in the evening such a great crowd of people upon the Bridge over the Tiber, that more than 200 people were crushed; the bridge cracked, and the people ran furiously against one another, and many mules and asses which came upon the bridge fell down, and no one could go back for the great crowd that ran against each other. The crowd also was so

[merged small][merged small][merged small][ocr errors][merged small][ocr errors]

"The xvii daie of Maye, 1595, at xii of ye cloke at noone, being lowe water, Mrs. Barbarie Metford died and was buried the xviii daie of May at ix of the cloke in ye morninge. Mr. Holsworth maid the sermon."

The latter was a quick burial, having taken place within twenty-four hours after death. Would the state of the tide have anything to do with this haste?

CHEESE EXPORTS

-

[ocr errors]

H. ASKEW.

IN THE XIV CENTURY. From the Calendar of Close Rolls' the following notes are taken :Oct. 20, 1343. A report that "la Katerine' of Yarmouth was attacked in the. port of "Swayn" in Flanders, and 20 weighs of cheese taken.

June 25, 1344. A report that a ship from the "Isle of Weight" called "la Juliane de Wyght," laden with 1707 stones of cheese and 97 stones of butter for Flanders, was taken on the high seas by Frenchmen. Oct. 5, 1344. A record that "la Catelyne of Mereseye" left for Flanders with 28 weighs of cheese.

Sept. 20, 1352. A permit to export cheese to the value of £50 from London to Seland or Holland." "Godeschild "

Nov. 23, 1361. The ship ai rested" for that 100 weys of cheese were put therein after the ship was laded." Nov. 26, 1362. butter forbidden.

The export of cheese and

Feb. 24, 1363. A notification that the merchants of Almain were to be allowed to take butter and cheese to foreign parts, though export is prohibited as the King would show favour to the said merchants." R. HEDGER WALLACE.

[ocr errors]

Readers' Queries.

THE NETTERVILLES AND OLIVER CROMWELL.-A curious story is told by Gilbert in his History of Dublin' (vol. i., p. 56) of one Nicholas Netterville, a Jesuit priest, son of the first Viscount Netterville. He says:

When Oliver Cromwell went with his army into Ireland, 14th or 15th August, 1649, he was accompanied by Nicholas Netterville, son of the first Viscount, a Jesuit priest, who taught philosophy in France for many years, and who was regarded as one of the best speakers and divines among the Irish Jesuits. The story runs that Netterville was billetted with William Nulty, a marine tailor, then living in Fishshamble Street, near the conduit, his billet being signed by Oliver Cromwell's own hand. Nulty was challenged by Nathaniel Foulkes, Captain of the City Militia, for entertaining a priest, who daily said Mass in his house. Nulty, who was surprised at the information, challenged Netterville, who replied: "I am so, and my lord general knows it: and tell all the town of it, and that I am here and will say Mass every day." Netterville was Oliver Cromwell's great companion and dined frequently with him. Netterville took a prominent part in the debates relative to the adoption of the Irish Remonstrance in 1666, at which period it is said he was in the habit of going through Dublin dressed as a cavalier, with a sword by his side. He was appointed Chaplain to the Duke of Tyrconnel when Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, and died shortly afterwards at Dublin, where he had been superior of the Jesuits. He also had a brother, Christopher, a Jesuit. The story is a strange one and is given by Gilbert as a quotation from some other source, which he does not mention. Father Denis Murphy, S.J., in his Cromwell in Ireland,' quotes Gilbert only in this, his only reference to Father Nicholas Netterville.

In 1647, Colonel Michael Jones (brother of Dr. Henry Jones, Bishop of Clogher, who became Presbyterian, and soon after scoutmaster to Cromwell's army) ordered all Roman Catholics to quit Dublin, and declared it death for any to sleep within the walls, or within two miles of them, or for any to harbour a priest. Upon Cromwell's arrival in Ireland all penalties were increased.

According to The Complete Peerage,' there were four sons of Nicholas, first Viscount Netterville, viz. :-Captain Richard Netterville (living 1640); Christopher Neville, a Jesuit (date of death not given); Captain Thomas Netterville (living 1641); and Nicholas Netterville, a Jesuit (living 1688).

[ocr errors]

Myles O'Reilly, in his Memorials of those

[ocr errors]
[ocr errors]

who suffered for the Catholic faith in Ireland 16th-18th Centuries,' has nothing to say about Father Nicholas Netterville, but he quotes the following concerning Father Christopher Netterville from an authoritative source:

Father Christopher Netterville, like St. Athanasius, for an entire year and more lay hid in his father's sepulchre, and even then with difficulty escaping the pursuit of the enemy he had to fly to a still mere incomOne was concealed in a modious retreat.

went

deep pit from which he at intervals forth on a mission of charity. The heretics, having received information as to his hiding place rushed to it and throwing down immense blocks of rock, exulted in his destruction; but Providence won for the good father, and he was absent engaged in some pious work of his ministry when his retreat thus assailed. As the Holy Sacrifice cannot be offered up in these receptacles of beasts rather than of men all the clergy carry with them a sufficient number of consecrated Hosts that thus they may themselves be comforted by this Holy Sacrament and may re ale to administer it to the sick and others.

was

a

Myles O'Reilly, however, introduces Father Robert Netterville, whose name does not occur in The Complete Peerage.' Quoting from Dr. Moran's Relatio Rerum,' he

says:

[ocr errors]

Father Robert Netterville was another victim to their fury. He was aged and confined to his bed by his infirmities, nevertheless he was forced away by his soldiers and dragged along the ground being violently knocked against each obstacle that presented itself on the way; then they beat him with clubs and broken, they cast many of his bones were On the fourth day, him on the highway. having fought a good fight, he departed this life and received, as we hope, a martyr's crown.

The date assigned to this is 1649 and to the incident concerning Father Christopher Netterville, 1654. In the Irish Monthly, 1875, p. 165, the quotation relating to Father Robert Netterville, as above, is also given. but as taken from 'A Manuscript History of the events written at the time by one of the Jesuits on the Irish Mission and preserved in the archives of the Irish College at Rome.' In Oliver's Collectanea, S.J.,' Exeter, 1830, Father Netterville is said to have been put to death June 15, 1649.

The points for elucidation are:-1. Is the story concerning Father Nicholas Netterville true? 2. What authority is there for it? 3. What was the reason for the special favours shown him? 4. Who was Father Robert Netterville?

Oxford.

DUDLEY WRIGHT.

« PreviousContinue »