The Fable of the Southern Writer

Front Cover
LSU Press, 1994 - Literary Criticism - 272 pages

"With a breadth and depth unsurpassed by any other cultural historian of the South, Lewis Simpson examines the writing of southerners Thomas Jefferson, John Randolph, Mark Twain, Robert Penn Warren, Allen Tate, William Faulkner, Elizabeth Madox Roberts, Arthur Crew Inman, William Styron, and Walker Percy. Simpson offers challenging essays of easy erudition blessedly free of academic jargon.... [They] do not propose to support an overall thesis, but simply explore the southern writer's unique relationship with his or her region, bereft of myth and tradition, in the grasp of science and history." -- Library Journal


What people are saying - Write a review

The fable of the southern writer

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

With a breadth and depth unsurpassed by any other cultural historian of the South, Simpson (English emeritus, Louisiana State Univ.) examines the writing of Southerners Thomas Jefferson, John Randolph ... Read full review

Selected pages


John Randolph and the Inwardness of History
The Fable of the Agrarians and the Failure of the American Republic
A Fable of White and Black Jefferson Madison Tate
History and the Will of the Artist Elizabeth Madox Roberts
War and Memory Quentin Compsons Civil War
The Tenses of History Faulkner
The Poetry of Criticism Allen Tate
The Loneliness Artist Robert Penn Warren
The Last Casualty of the Civil War Arthur Crew Inman
From Thoreau to Walker Percy Home by Way of California or The End of the Southern Renascence
A Personal Fable Living with Indians

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

ewis P. Simpson, former coeditor of the Southern Review,is Boyd Professor and William A. Read Professor of English, emeritus, at Louisiana State University. A founding member of the Fellowship of Southern Writers and past president of the Society for the Study of Southern Literature, he is the author or editor of more than thirteen books, including Mind and the American Civil War: A Meditation on Lost Causes, winner of the Avery O. Craven Award.

Bibliographic information